Downtown SLO is a 501 (c)(6) nonprofit founded in 1975 whose mission is to foster an economically vibrant Downtown. Our organization is made up of the fee-paying businesses who operate within our boundaries, voluntary members, and our civic collaborators, including nonprofit organizations, residents, and visitors to our Downtown. We have a robust partnership with the City of San Luis Obispo, and we advocate to the City on behalf of our membership as well as participate in City processes to ensure our Downtown is positioned as vital to our City, County and regional economy and identity.

Our charitable nonprofit arm, the Friends of Downtown SLO is a 501c3 nonprofit where tax-deductible donations of any size may be made to support a vibrant Downtown San Luis Obispo.


To foster an economically vibrant Downtown

Downtown San Luis Obispo


  • We help people and business grow and thrive
  • We foster a feeling of belonging
  • We create community
  • We like to bring people together
  • We celebrate diversity
  • We practice optimism
  • We are resilient
  • We actively promote a walkable, bikeable, accessible community
  • We cultivate sustainability
  • We value the outdoors and respect our natural environment
  • We believe that a thriving economy depends on authentic connection

Adopted March 2019


Downtown SLO is governed by a 15-member Board of Directors which is elected by the membership each March. Board members take office in April and may serve up to two consecutive two-year terms. The Board appoints three designated members representing voluntary member businesses in the district from financial, non-profit, and higher education sectors. The Board also appoints one non-voting media representative. The four appointed terms do not have term limits. All Board members must also serve on at least one of the seven standing committees. The Board of Directors meets every second Tuesday at 7:30 a.m. in the Downtown SLO conference room.

Pat Arnold – CoVelop Inc; President, Executive, Parking & Access Committee

Carl DudleyPacific Western Bank; Designated Member, Financial Treasurer, Executive Committee

Jai Covey – Novo, Luna Red, and Mint+Craft; Food, Beverage & Services Committee

Michael Dammeyer – Puglisi Architecture

Maryalice HamiltonBlackwater

Donna Lewis – Guaranteed Rate Mortgage

Mark Rawson – Copeland Properties; Parking & Access Committee

M. Faríd Shahíd –  Eighty 20 Group; Downtown SLO Farmers’ Market Chair

David Smith – Hotel SLO

Scott Smith – Central Coast Surfboards; Parking Committee

Stephanie Stackhouse – SLO Yoga Center; Parking Committee

Brandon Downing – KSBY; Media Representative, Special Events Committee

Courtney Kienow – Cal Poly; Designated Member: Higher Education, Economic Activities Committee

Laura MullenHumanKind Fair Trade; Designated Member: Nonprofit, Economic Activities Chair

Government Liaisons

Aaron Gomez, San Luis Obispo City Council

Christopher Lopez, Director of Central Services, San Luis Obispo County

Greg Hermann, Deputy City Manager, City of San Luis Obispo


Bettina Swigger

Chief Executive Officer


Downtown Ambassadors


Hotline: 805-250-6467

Rachel Maiorino

Chief Operating Officer


Whitney Chaney

Farmers Market Manager


Downtown Brown

Downtown Mascot


All committee meetings are currently on hiatus. There are seven standing committees: Cultural Arts; Downtown SLO Farmers’ Market; Economic Activities; Food, Beverage, & Services; Issues Evaluation; Parking & Access; and Special Events. All committees are open to the public and have one designated City representative, with the exception of the Issues Evaluation Committee.


Curious about joining a committee? Have other questions or input about our Downtown? We value hearing from our community and believe your input is crucial to a successful Downtown. To get involved, please contact us at reachus@downtownslo.com or give us a call at (805) 541 – 0286. We look forward to hearing from you!


Downtown SLO has supported our business community for 45 years. The organization began as a Business Improvement Association in 1975 when business owners decided to self-assess to improve the district and develop unified promotions, beautification projects, and parking programs for the Downtown area.

In 1998 the organization became the Downtown Association, and in 2008 changed its organizational structure from a city advisory body to an independent 501 (c) 6 nonprofit in order to better serve our members. In 2017, the Board of Directors chose to refresh our image and brand, and now we are proud to be known as Downtown SLO.

The organization relies on hundreds of volunteers each year to build community in our beloved Downtown. Please join us reachus@downtownslo.com (805) 541-0286